Welcome

  • FORT SMITH PUBLIC SCHOOLS
    SPECIAL EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

    Fort Smith Public School District is a highly diverse community in terms of our student populations. This is equally true of our students receiving special education services and their families as any other demographic group in the District. We have worked collaboratively over the years with area support groups, service organizations, the Arkansas Department of Education – Special Education Unit, and state service organizations to help meet the unique and diverse needs of our students. Our offices are here to support you in working with your student’s needs and in developing effective and appropriate programming for them. 

    To send or request records: speddocs@fortsmithschools.org 

  • Contact Information

    Kathy Haaser
    Director of Special Education
    479-785-2501 ext. 91266
    khaaser@fortsmithschools.org 

    Susan Coon
    Special Education Coordinator
    Cook, Howard, Morrison, Park, Orr/Tilles PK, Kimmons, Brownwood
    479-785-2501 ext. 91244
    scoon@fortsmithschools.org

    Alicia Henry
    Special Education Coordinator
    Carnall, Cavanaugh, Northside, Southside, Belle Point
    479-785-2501 ext. 91278
    ahenry@fortsmithschools.org 

    Samantha Sayers
    Special Education Coordinator
    Barling, Beard, Bonneville, Sutton, Chaffin, Darby, JDC
    479-785-2501 ext. 91290
    ssayers@fortsmithschools.org

    Mindy VanPelt
    Special Education Coordinator
    Orr (school age), Fairview, Trusty, Woods, Spradling, Valley
    479-785-2501 ext. 91420
    mvanpelt@fortsmithschools.org

    Wendy Joice
    Special Education Coordinator
    Euper Lane, Tilles, Ramsey, Sunnymede, Ballman
    479-785-2501 ext. 91279
    wjoice@fortsmithschools.org

    Melissa Braddy
    Special Education Instructional Specialist
    Dyslexia
    479-785-2501 ext. 91272
    mbraddy@fortsmithschools.org