• Norma Shaffer Partnership of the Year Award

    This award was established to recognize outstanding partnerships within the Fort Smith Public School District's Partners in Education Program. Established in 1998, the award is named for Norma Shaffer, who coordinated Partner in Education from 1986-1998, and is presented each year to one elementary partnership and one secondary or program partnership.

    2017 Winners

    • Fort Smith Commissary Kiwanis Club with Cavanaugh Elementary School
    • Greater Fort Smith Association of Homebuilders with Northside High School

    Bud Jackson Teamwork Award

    Samuel "Bud" Jackson, retired Weldon, Williams & Lick CEO, introduced the idea of school partnerships to the then-superintendent C.B. Garrison in 1982. Since that time, Fort Smith Public Schools Partners in Education has grown to include 220+ partners, including the charter partnership between Weldon, Williams, & Lick and Howard Elementary.

    2017 Winners

    Northside High School Career Internship Program partners

    • Maria's Mexican Restaurant
    • Mercy Fitness
    • Weichert Realty
    • Rush, Rush & DeLay
    • KISR Radio
    • Legacy Health and Rehabilitation
    • Chronister, Fields & Flake
    • Kids Unlimited Academy
    • Orchid Medical Spa
    • Sharum Landscaping
    • Webber Creek Farms
    • Simply Couture
    • Blaylock Heating and Air
    • Action Mechanical
    • World Class Fitness

    Cathy Williams Partner of the Year Award

    This award was established in 2011 to honor an individual who demonstrates long-term and consistent support to a school through the Partners Program.

    2017 Winners

    • Edward Merida, a recent UAFS graduate
    • Sandra Armistead with BancorpSouth