Fort Smith Public Schools Board of Education

    The Fort Smith Public School District is governed by a seven-member Board of Education. Four members are elected by zone while three are elected in at-large positions. School Board meetings are held on the fourth Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Service Center Auditorium, located in Building B of the Service Center complex, 3205 Jenny Lind Road, unless otherwise noted. The meetings are open to the public. Parents, grandparents, care-providers of FSPS students, and Fort Smith residents are encouraged to become more familiar with the governance of the School District. For more information please call 479-785-2501, ext. 1206.

    The meeting agenda will be posted the Thursday prior to each meeting and the approved minutes of previous meetings will be available on the following Tuesday. The school board election is held annually on the third Tuesday in May. Citizens wishing to address the board may call 479-785-2501 to be placed on the board's agenda. A Request to Speak form must be submitted to the Superintendent's Office in writing 72 hours prior to the meeting. Or, citizens may fill out a Citizen Participation Form.

    In addition to the documents posted on this site the District maintains the District's Board of Education records which date back to the late 19th Century. A patron may make an appointment to review these documents by contacting the Superintendent's Office at 479-785-2501.  

                                                  Board of Education 

                     Bill Hanesworth, President, At Large, 2021             Talicia Richardson, Vice President, At Large, 2022             Dee Blackwell, Secretary, Zone 3, 2023 `

                     Bill Hanesworth, President                      Talicia Richardson, Vice-President         Dee Blackwell, Secretary
                     At Large, 2021                                            At Large, 2022                                            Zone III, 2023



    Wade Gilkey, Zone I, 2021    Yvonne Keaton-Martin, Zone IV, 2021    Susan McFerran, Zone !!, 2022    Dalton Person, At Large, 2023

    Wade Gilkey                                     Yvonne Keaton-Martin                  Susan McFerran                             Dalton Person
    Zone I, 2021                                       Zone IV, 2021                                  Zone II, 2022                                    At Large, 2023



    Bill Hanesworth — wchanesworth@littlefieldoil.com
    Talicia Richardson — taliciarichardson@gmail.com
    Dee Blackwell —  deeblackwellboe@gmail.com
    Wade Gilkey — mgilkey@shelterinsurance.com
    Susan McFerran —  susanamcferran@gmail.com
    Yvonne Keaton-Martin — foxynana9@att.net

    Dalton Person — jdaltonperson@gmail.com



    • Zone 1 generally represents Southeast Fort Smith and Barling
    • Zone 2 generally represents Southwest Fort Smith
    • Zone 3 generally represents East Central Fort Smith
    • Zone 4 generally represents North Fort Smith

    To view your zone by your residential address, follow these steps:

    • Visit the Voter Registration Page on the Arkansas Secretary of State Website
    • Enter your address into the Polling Place Search
    • Scroll to the bottom of the page
    • Click "Districts"
    • Scroll down to "School District"
    • Your school district zone will be listed


    School Board Election Information

    The school board election for Fort Smith Public Schools is scheduled for May 18, 2021.

    Candidate packets are now available at the county clerk’s office.

    Also available is the 2021 Election Calendar posted on the Elections page of the Arkansas Secretary of State website.

    You may also contact the Sebastian County Clerk's Office for more information.
    Because of preparations necessary for social distancing the Board cannot accommodate day-of-meeting requests to speak during this time. Speakers are asked to arrive at the Service Center Auditorium no later than 5:20 p.m. on the day of the meeting and remain in their car. A moderator of the meeting will call to notify the speaker when it is time to come into the auditorium. The board president will recognize speakers shortly after they arrive. Speakers are asked to be seated until that time.